Back to Travel Desk

SkyStamp · Travel Desk

Power Bank Flight-Safe

Check capacity before you pack, then check the rules for your flight. A small power bank can still have restrictions on quantity, use and storage.

Manually verified:

Battery energy

The example assumes 3.7 V. Verify your battery’s nominal voltage; the USB charger’s output voltage is different.

Enter positive numbers without thousands separators. Use your language’s decimal separator or a decimal point.

Use the printed Wh rating when available. A calculated estimate does not replace the manufacturer’s label.

Check each flight separately, including connections. Select the actual operator shown on your booking, not just the airline selling the ticket.

Battery energy

— Wh

Enter the battery rating and a whole-number quantity to check the rules.

This tool offers guidance, not airline approval or product-safety certification. Follow the operating airline and crew’s instructions.

This check assumes all entered banks have the same rating. For different banks, check each and count the total. Other large spare batteries can share an allowance: confirm the combination with the airline. Medical-device exceptions are outside this tool.

Free, with no account. Calculations stay in your browser.

Published airline rules

Only the named operators are covered. Other subsidiaries and airlines require their own checks. Route coverage is limited; also check local airport and authority requirements.

Singapore Airlines (SQ)≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person

Applies to: Flights operated by this airline only

Cabin baggage
Cabin only; never checked baggage
Capacity limit per bank
≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person
Prior airline approval
Required above 100 Wh
Charging a device
Not permitted
Recharging the bank
Not permitted
Storage on board
Keep accessible, preferably in the seat pocket or under-seat bag

Manually verified: · Effective from:

Emirates (EK)≤ 100 Wh · Up to 1 per person

Applies to: Flights operated by this airline only

Cabin baggage
Cabin only; never checked baggage
Capacity limit per bank
≤ 100 Wh · Up to 1 per person
Prior airline approval
Not required within this capacity band
Charging a device
Not permitted
Recharging the bank
Not permitted
Storage on board
Seat pocket or under-seat bag; no overhead storage

Manually verified: · Effective from:

Japan Airlines / JAL (JL)≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person

Applies to: Flights operated by this airline only

Cabin baggage
Cabin only; never checked baggage
Capacity limit per bank
≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person
Prior airline approval
Confirm with the operator above 100 Wh
Charging a device
Not permitted
Recharging the bank
Not permitted
Storage on board
Not verified — ask the operator

Manually verified: · Effective from:

All Nippon Airways / ANA (NH)≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person

Applies to: Flights operated by this airline only

Cabin baggage
Cabin only; never checked baggage
Capacity limit per bank
≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person
Prior airline approval
Confirm with the operator above 100 Wh
Charging a device
The reviewed sources differ or leave this point unclear. Do not assume permission; follow the linked authority and ask the operator. ANA’s English notice says to refrain from device charging; MLIT says not to do it.
Recharging the bank
Not permitted
Storage on board
Not verified — ask the operator

Manually verified: · Effective from:

AirAsia Philippines (Z2)≤ 100 Wh · Up to 2 per person

Applies to: Flights operated by this airline only

Cabin baggage
Cabin only; never checked baggage
Capacity limit per bank
≤ 100 Wh · Up to 2 per person
Prior airline approval
Not required within this capacity band
Charging a device
Not permitted
Recharging the bank
Not permitted
Storage on board
Seat pocket or under-seat bag; no overhead storage

Manually verified: · Effective date not specified

Lufthansa (LH)≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person

Applies to: Flights operated by this airline only

Cabin baggage
Cabin only; never checked baggage
Capacity limit per bank
≤ 160 Wh · Up to 2 per person
Prior airline approval
Required above 100 Wh
Charging a device
Not permitted
Recharging the bank
Not permitted
Storage on board
Seat pocket or under-seat bag; no overhead storage

Manually verified: · Effective date not specified

General guidance

ICAO limits power banks to 2, prohibits recharging them on board and recommends against charging devices with them. National implementation and airline restrictions differ. IATA’s operator guidance has a stricter capacity table; do not treat it as a single worldwide permission. Use the specific operator’s published policy.

For mainland China domestic flights, CAAC requires a clear CCC / 3C mark and excludes recalled models or batches. This scope is not every international flight to China.

Before you pack

Printed rating (Wh)

Keep the capacity label readable. If it is missing or unclear, ask the airline before travel; this calculator cannot certify an unlabelled bank.

Nominal battery voltage (V)

Use nominal battery voltage, not USB output such as a fast charger’s advertised voltage. If it is unknown, consult the manufacturer rather than guessing.

Connecting flights

Every operating airline and relevant departure authority can set conditions. A bank accepted on one flight may not be accepted on the next.

Gate-checked bags

Before a cabin bag is taken into the hold at the gate, remove the power bank and keep it protected in the cabin.

Damaged or recalled banks

Do not travel with damaged, swollen or recalled banks. Check the manufacturer’s recall information for your model and batch.

Official sources

Travel Desk — Power Bank Sources and Acknowledgements